#38 Monday Morning Doesn’t Suck (Waking Up Jayla)

This story contain’s sexual content, violence, coarse language and consumption of alcohol it is rated R and 18+

Read from the start: Click Here

Monday Morning Doesn’t Suck (Waking Up Jayla)

I smiled at Curt as he pulled over outside my house. The sun was up and it promised to be a beautiful day. Curt pulled me closer by my chin and brushed his soft lips against mine. I breathed a sigh as he pressed his lips harder and kissed me with a possessiveness that made my heart thump.

“Mmm.” He backed away.

“Monday morning doesn’t suck with you in them.” I giggled and got out of the car.

“I’ll pick you up later?” He said with a boyish hope.

“Yes please.” I blew him a kiss and went to get ready for work.

I made it to work, after some unbelievably amazing morning sex, just in time. Curt decided I needed a change of clothes at his place so I didn’t have to rush out in the morning. I agreed but only if he left a suit at mine, to which he agreed.

I was called to the boss’s office within minutes of arriving. I remembered what happened and felt a smidge of shame for forgetting.

It was more of what the police told me only that apparently it’s against company policy to date co-workers. The next order of business was to tell me that he was meeting with all senior staff individually then in groups as he went down the ladder.

Bill took the entirety of our pension contributions and I was devastated. Since I have little expense, I was putting a lot of my money into them. That and my RRSP’s but the pension was the larger of the two.

“It’s all gone?” I asked my boss Mr. Lentil.

“All of it.” He replied.

“But there has to be a way to get it back.”

“And we have lawyers looking into it. As it is you will receive your due severance and be notified by lawyer if the pensions are recovered.”

“What!” My heart sank and stomach lurched.

“I simply cannot have the attention you will draw as his lover when he was murdered. I have to stick to my policies to all and everyone. Regardless of the circumstance.”

“I never slept with Bill. We went on three crappy dates. I ended it weeks ago.”

“And Ms. Markson you did nothing to report any of it before the media found out. Rules are rules. Clean out your desk and see Bridgett before you leave to finalize everything.”

“But I’m a good employee. I do everything asked. I’ve never caused trouble and worked countless hours of unpaid overtime to help. Please don’t do this. You can’t do this.”

“I can and I am. I will give you an excellent reference letter. I don’t actually need a reason to let you go, you finally gave me one and saved me the trouble of inventing one.”

“Wait, what?”

“Cut backs Ms. Markson. I need to make up the lost money somehow. The pensions weren’t the only thing stolen.” He gestured to the door. “Go on you have half an hour.”

Numbly I got up and went to my office followed by a security guard. I was a work minimalist and took my pens, the antique Quill pen my dad gave me and the few things that were mine including a small desk plant. I went to see Bridgette and we negotiated my severance. It was generous and frankly, if they were going to just drop me like this I didn’t want to fight or stay here. I would still consult my lawyer.

As I was walking out, I saw Paul shake hands with Mr. Lentil and turn to leave. He had no business here. The hairs on the back of my neck stood up.

“What the hell?” I picked up my pace to catch up with Paul and quickly pressed voice record on my phone before tucking it into the top of my purse. Thus far, everything he’s said to me has been incriminating. I wondered if I pushed him if he’d slip up about the money.

“Paul!”

He turned before he unlocked his car and smiled. “No banker box? No tears? That’s new. Somebody grew up.”

I scowled at him. I would cry later. This wasn’t the end of the world. More importantly I wanted to know how he knew I was just let go.

“You did this. Somehow you did this.”

His smile took on a serious creepy undertone. His eyes shifted to pure malice and a shiver ran up my spine.

“Oh Jayla I warned you didn’t I? Back off with the investigation, but oh no, you didn’t. I said I’d make you pay for attacking me and being difficult and I did.”

I stared in disbelief as rage seeped through me. How could this morning go so wrong so fast, I had no idea.

To be continued…

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved

Next Chapter: Confessions Of A Madman

 

 

Quill

7 comments on “#38 Monday Morning Doesn’t Suck (Waking Up Jayla)

  1. […] Next Chapter: Monday Morning Doesn’t Suck […]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nel says:

    Wait so Mr. Lentil is in Paul’s pocket and he’s talking about making Jayla pay which could imply he had something to do with what happened to Bill? Curious.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow,I had a feeling Paul and Bill had a connection of some sort.😮😱

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

