#34 Behaving Like A Child (Waking Up Jayla)

This story contain’s sexual content, violence, coarse language and consumption of alcohol it is rated R and 18+

Read from the start: Click Here

Behaving Like A Child (Waking Up Jayla)

I watched Curt and Everett walk up to my house covertly through the window. I could have met them outside but I know Curt likes to be romantic. And I, the sucker for romance, ate it up.

I opened the door to Everett’s tiny yet precise knock.

Everett’s eyes widened. “AJ!” He grinned.

His hair was definitely lighter than Curt’s, but now that I see them side by side there were obvious similarities.

“So cool. Dad you didn’t tell me it was AJ.”

Curt looked confused. “I didn’t know.”

“Don’t be silly dad she’s your girlfriend, you have to know her.” He giggled and took my hand. “We played yesterday while you were boring.”

Curt cocked his head to the side.  “Right everyone calls him Rett. That’s funny that you didn’t know it was my son.”

“Well.” I said and smiled as Everett kissed the back of my hand. “I wasn’t expecting him or you to be there. I realized after you left and wondered if he’d mention anything.”

“He did. About a pretty girl named AJ.” Curt ruffled his son’s hair.

Everett talked non-stop the entire drive. He talked about school, favourite shows, games, toys, friends, and whatever caught his attention as we drove. He made a point to pay me compliments which was adorable. Curt did say he was a charmer. Like father, like son.

We got out of the car and Everett took my hand dragging me down the sidewalk. Apparently, he knew where we were going. I had no idea.

“Do you like fish AJ?”

“Who doesn’t?” I replied as the boy actually bounced as he walked.

Curt put his hand in mine. “It’s cute that he calls you AJ. Why?”

“It’s funny, Henry calls me Aunty Jay. The other kids abbreviated and it stuck.”

“Huh.”

We walked holding hands. I was in the middle and I was in heaven. I was happy and carefree as we approached the aquarium. It’s been here for years but I’ve never had a reason to come.

The displays and tanks full of various sea creatures were astounding. Everett was like a super-ball bouncing around. I’ll be honest I was right in there with him behaving like a child. Curt laughed at us and took pictures. I made sure to take a bunch of Curt and Everett on Curt’s phone and some on mine. Everett asked a stranger to take a family picture. Curt gathered us together in front of the large ocean tank and the old man snapped a few of us. I don’t think Everett meant it that way, but it made my day to say the least.

On our fifth time through the moving sidewalk exhibit, Everett and I searched desperately for the sea turtle. We both clapped and squealed when we found him, or her. I have no idea. The entire time Curt found every and any opportunity to touch me. Not sexually, just touching. A hand, my arm, my back, my hip, waist, shoulder, neck and even on my thigh when we had stopped for lunch and snacks earlier.

We were currently elbows deep in a stingray petting pool. It was gross and amazing. They splashed and we laughed and jumped. Everett went into the restroom with Curt and I went into the womens’ to wash my arms and hands properly. We met in the gift shop, where surprise, surprise I became a child again.

I picked out some blown glass starfish and Jellyfish for my kitchen window ledge and Curt teased me for being so silly.

“Daddy has the jelly’s.” Everett whispered and took my hand.

“Do you mean he’s jealous?” I asked quietly.

“Yes, but here it’s the jelly’s.”

And we giggled, Curt rolled his eyes from across the gift shop. I bought my souvenirs, and I got Everett and I matching animal bracelets. Curt didn’t want one. They were childish but they went well with my glow in the dark jelly bracelets he bought me that I haven’t taken off since.

When we left the aquarium, Everett took off in a full run toward a woman with light brown hair and pale brown eyes. “Mommy!” He cheered and jumped into her arms.

Curt took my hand and walked me over to them. Everett was talking a mile a minute.

“Oh this is AJ. She bought me this.” He held up his wrist.

“Spoiled boy.” The woman smiled at the bracelet and set him down. She held out her hand.

“I’m Tash.”

I shook her hand. “Jayla.”

“Nope it’s AJ.” Everett corrected.

“It’s nice to meet you.” Tash looked at Curt.

She was lovely and I was a little jealous for no good reason.

“Are you all set to take him next month Curtis?”

“Of course I can’t wait.”

“Good.” Tash said. “He’s very excited. It’s going to be so hard leaving my baby.”

Curt chuckled. “It’s only a month and you’ll have the time of your life. You can skype anytime.”

“Will you be around?” She asked me.

“She better be.” Everett crossed his arms, narrowed his eyes at Curt and the grownups laughed.

“Don’t worry pal she will be.”

“Sorry I’d love to stay and talk but I do have to run. Maybe we can do coffee sometime Jayla?” She snickered at Everett’s pout. “Sorry… AJ.”

Tash was not what I expected. She is friendly nice and definitely a good person. I wondered what it was about her that he didn’t like. Curt nodded slightly letting me know it was okay.

“I would like that Tash.”

“Great.” She smiled. “Say goodbye baby.”

Everett gave me a hug and kiss on the cheek and then a more exaggerated one for Curt. It was ultra-adorable. With waives and blown kisses Everett disappeared with his mom.

“Uh, was that weird to say yes to coffee?” I asked Curt.

“Not at all. Tash is great, just not for me. Besides if she likes you it makes my life easier.”

“Oh?”

“Yup.” He took my hand and we walked back to the car.

We were alone and I was nervous… in a very good way.

 To be continued…

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved

Next Chapter: A Hard Question

Snack

5 comments on “#34 Behaving Like A Child (Waking Up Jayla)

  1. Nel says:

    This literally could not have been more perfect considering Jayla’s yesterday. Loooove! It can only get better from here! (I hope). I never know with you cim 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kudos to Jayla,perfect connection and head start with Everett, the date went smoothly even the meeting of his mom! Perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

