#33 This Isn’t About You (Waking Up Jayla)

This story contain’s sexual content, violence, coarse language and consumption of alcohol it is rated R and 18+

Read from the start: Click Here

This Isn’t About You (Waking Up Jayla)

My sister looked up as the door swung open and she rushed in grabbing me in a tight hug. “Are you okay JJ?”

She hasn’t called me that in years. Not even when I got divorced and was heartbroken. Never mind that it was partly her fault.

“Yes. It was alarming and scary, but I only went on three dates with him.”

“Still… What if you had been with him when it happened. The though terrifies me.” She closed the door and looked sad. “I hate this, what’s happened between us.”

I didn’t comfort her because I had no compunction to. I turned on my heel and went to my kitchen to make a calming tea and put away my cold untouched supper.

I got her cup and thought about how close we used to be. We were inseparable as kids and even as teens, drawn together like magnets. Sure, she was always selfish, petty and spiteful, but it was only when our parents died that she really became mean. Yes we fought and bickered and competed our entire lives, but she was my sister.

Thankfully she sat quiet stewing in her own turbulent emotions. Whatever they were, I have my own to sort through and frankly I’m not spending any energy on her feelings.

“Here.” I set a cup of steaming tea down.

“Tea… You are such an old soul.”

I said nothing. I didn’t know what to say. I wanted her to leave. A hug does not erase sleeping with Paul when he was my fiancée then when he was my husband and with him again after.

“I know you’re mad.” She held up her hand. “You have every right to be. I know what I did was wrong and I did it anyway. I’ve been in love with Paul since you two met. I hate that he chose you.”

I sighed and refused to let her make this about her. “I was the easier mark I guess. You know he took everything right?”

“What?”

“The money, he took all of it. I don’t know how and I can’t prove it. But he’s sort of admitted it, but only to me.”

“I didn’t know.”

“I don’t like gossiping and it’s not like we’re friends anymore.”

She looked at her cup sadly again. What sparked this turn of conscience I have no idea.

“That’s on me.” She said quietly.

Ah, yeah. I’m not about to let her off easily. I might have a month ago, but not now.

“Look Delilah, you betrayed me in the most intimate of ways. You fucked Paul the morning of our wedding. My wedding! You said nothing to stop me, you could have saved me years of torment and greif. But oh no that would mean owning up to your mistake. You kept up the affair even though I was pregnant and said nothing. You pretended for years to be my friend all the while having sex with MY husband. I bet you laughed behind my back together enjoying the game.”

She nodded and kept her eyes downcast.

“I would have been angry that you stole Paul before we were married. Despite the baby it would have been less painful than years of lying. But to do what you did for so long?” I got up and went to the sink. I wasn’t sure if I was going to throw up or not. I sure as hell couldn’t look at her right now. I whole heartedly regretted not taking the taxi to Curt’s.

“I’m sorry. I know words like those have little meaning after what I did. But I am.”

“What may I ask,” I said as I turned, “brought this bout of conscience on?”

“Asha and Theo let into me for an hour after the party was over. I let slip that I was the one that Paul cheated with after they freaked over the guestroom. They didn’t know. You never told them?”

“I was already going down in flames Delilah I’m not the kind of person to drag others with me. Deserved or not.”

“No you’re always kind, sweet and the most loved. I was always second to you in mom’s eyes.”

“Don’t start that, this isn’t about you.” It was an old bitterness and again I was not going to let this be about her. I am the victim here not her.

She and Asha always thought I got away with everything; that our parents loved me best. I was the best-behaved, with the best grades and never got into trouble. That was until I met Paul after University. I went wild until I got pregnant then reality kicked in again.

“It’s true and you know it.” Delilah said then pouted prettily.

“That may be so, but it turns out I’m also a blind fool, gullible, stupid, naive and worthless. So you win Delilah.”

“It’s not…” Delilah shook her head. “He said he’d leave you for me. He kept promising and that I was the only one.”

I snorted.

“I wasn’t I know. He’s engaged to Candie and still I slept with him.”

I crossed my arms. “How original of you. Why did you come here?”

“Because you’re upset.”

“Honestly I’m more upset now than I was before you got here. You came because Asha made you am I right?”

“Partially. I do want to make up.” She stood and approached me at the sink. “I miss you, I hate what happened and I am truly sorry.”

“I’m angry Delilah, and more than that, you broke my heart.”

“I know. Will you give me a chance?”

I looked at the woman I always thought was better, prettier, and smarter and I felt pity. It was sad that she couldn’t come to any of this conclusion on her own. Not now and not years ago.

“You’re my sister.” I said. “It won’t be easy and it will never be the same, but yes. I’ll give you a chance.”

She hugged me and this time I hugged her back. There wasn’t much love in it for me, but there was a little. Was it enough? Only time will tell. Festering anger will destroy the soul and I’m not about to ruin mine over her lousy actions.

She insisted on staying and I reluctantly decided to let her. Once I let down the barrier, we started talking about things. Our conversation danced around the subjects of Paul and boyfriends completely.

I called Curt before going to bed to let him know she was staying and which sister it was. Delilah and I talked about work and she told me of her travels as we settled into my bed. It’s been more than ten years since we did that. My anger didn’t disappear and I would need more proof that she was actually going to change, but this was a start.

I woke before she did and made breakfast. She came down ate, thanked me again for being the better person and left.

I went to get ready for my date with Everett and his hunky father after checking in with my lawyer.

To be continued…

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved

Next Chapter: Behaving Like A Child

 

 

Magnet

7 comments on “#33 This Isn’t About You (Waking Up Jayla)

  1. Nel says:

    She’s nicer than me. Blood means nothing after that kind of betrayal.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. […] This isn’t about you – Cimmerian sentiment […]

    Like

  3. Glad Jayla was able too get these old feeling off her chest with Delilah, however a long handled spoon is definitely in order, considering she was (still), just with Paul so recently, and didn’t get the gist of her wrongs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

