#31 In Hot Water (Waking Up Jayla)

This story contain’s sexual content, violence, coarse language and consumption of alcohol it is rated R and 18+

Read from the start: Click Here

In Hot Water (Waking Up Jayla)

I got up, went to my front door and before opening I looked out. A female officer and a man in a cheap suit stood on my porch.

“What?” I whispered to myself and opened the door. Did Bill press charges? Am I in trouble? My hands shook as I imagined being arrested or put in handcuffs. What would my neighbours think? I could hear my fathers voice saying ‘you’re in hot water young lady’. It’s what he said when I was busted by him for something bad.

“Are you Jayla Markson?”

“I am.” I said cautiously as my mouth went dry.

“Sorry to bother you Ms. Markson but we need to talk to you. I am Detective Fig and this is officer Sara Hunt.” They both showed me their badges. “We need to speak with you, may we come in?”

I glanced between the detective and the officer. I stepped aside. There was no need to be difficult or annoy them if they are here because I beat up Bill in self defense. I also didn’t want my neighbours to watch.  I was instantly terrified for what they had to say. The police at any given time freak me out. I don’t know why, I never break the law… except when I kicked Bill out.

“Come in.” I led them to my living room “Can I get you something to drink?”

“No Ma’am.” The officer said and the detective shook his head no. We all sat stiffly. Me in my chair and they on my couch. “We need to ask you about Bill Parsons.”

“Bill?” My stomach dropped and fear crept in. Shit he was pressing charges after all. What a baby. I suppose I should own up to what I did since I would have and would do it again if need be.

“Yes.” Detective Fig said. “We have reason to believe that the two of you were intimate. Were the two of you were dating?”

“We did yes. It was only three dates and I ended it Last week after he tried to force me to have sex when I was too drunk. We did have a fight last night.” Honesty. Cops like details and honesty. Even if I was in trouble over it I know Curt wouldn’t dump me if I was charged with assault.

“I actually have that on record Ms. Markson from your call.” Officer Hunt said.

Detective Fig cleared his throat. “Bill Parsons was under investigation for Embezzlement. He’s been cooking the books, so to speak, for years.”

I did not see that coming and did not hide my shock. “Oh.”

The detective continued. “He made a very large mistake when he tried to tie an innocent party to the actions about two weeks ago.”

“Let me guess. Me.” I said quietly.

“Yes.” Detective Fig said sadly. “Only a co-worker name Bridgett Donnelly noticed the inconsistency because of all the recent changes to your payroll and employee records.”

That and Bridgett was a nosy busy body gossip-monger. She was always watching me with jealous eyes. The slightest infraction and she was off to the boss with the information. She was a living embodiment of the phrase ‘a squeaky wheels get the grease.’ She complained about anything out of order and while some of it was beneficial to the office, most was not. I think the only reason she gets away with so much complaining and gossip is that she’s hot and flirts with the boss.

“She brought it to your employer’s attention and in turn he came to me.” Detective Fig said with a shake of his head. “It didn’t take much to decipher what happened.”

“Mr. Parsons had…” The Detective began. “Gambling debts.”

“Oh.” I was all kinds of eloquent. I had no idea. He was focused on money and had said he was pissed that I was broke.

“When is the last time you saw him?”

I looked at Detective Fig. “Last night, um, Friday. He threatened me and I hurt him to make him leave. I’ll admit it. It was self-defense even if he didn’t hit me or touch me. Honest. He scared me badly.” I took my cell out and handed it to the detective after opening the last text. “He texted me that the next morning. Suggesting I owed him. ”

Detective Fig read the text, took a picture with own phone, showed it to the officer and handed the phone back. “Where were you yesterday afternoon around three pm?”

“I was at my sisters house, it was her husband’s birthday party. I left around three thirty or so.” I knew honesty was going to be important here. Something was wrong. “I walked in on my ex-husband having sex with my oldest sister. I was upset and drove around to clear my head for a couple hours before heading home. My friend was here waiting for me and stayed for almost an hour.”

“Could you write down their contact information?” The Detective handed me a pad of paper and a pen.

“Yes, but may I ask why?”

“Given the voluntary admission to assault the night before Bill Parson’s murder, you are a person of interest in the case.”

My body stopped functioning. I dropped the pen and paper and stared with my mouth agape at the two.

 To be continued…

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved

Next Chapter: When It Rains…

 

 

Wheel

16 comments on “#31 In Hot Water (Waking Up Jayla)

  1. Nel says:

    Oh shit. Bill is dead?! No wonder he hasn’t been around to harass lately

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really didn’t like him…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Did NOT see that coming…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sheryl says:

    Talk about a stressful day.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Spellbinding story. I got really hooked by it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

