#24 I Can Handle This (Waking Up Jayla)

This story contain’s sexual content, violence, coarse language and consumption of alcohol it is rated R and 18+

Read from the start: Click Here

I Can Handle This (Waking Up Jayla)

I took a deep breath to calm my nerves. I was about to call Curt to tell him about Bill when I realized he would be picking his son up for the weekend. I couldn’t burden him with this. I called my sister Asha instead. Maybe she would come over or invite me over.

She listened and told me in no direct terms that I had it coming if I treated him that way. I was stunned and sickened. Am I insane? Did I over react? No. I’m certain I was justified. I hung up on her mid lecture and called Mandy, whom I should have called first. She was on the other side of the country and even though she was in bed, she listened. I know she’s biased but I needed that right now.

Are you okay?” Were the first words out of Mandy’s mouth.

The genuine concern constricted my throat a little with tears of gratitude.

“I’m not hurt, upset yes, but not hurt.”

Wow, I’m shocked Sweetie, how did he… Why did. You know what it doesn’t matter. Tell your Hottie as soon as you can without putting him out. But I bet you a thousand bucks Curt will be mad you didn’t call him right away.

“Maybe.” I sighed and thought about it. “I think I might…” I sighed again before continuing. “Be in love.”

No kidding.” Mandy laughed over the phone. “I’m half in love with him and I’ve never met the man. Are you afraid Bill will come back?

“No. I doubt it.”

If you won’t call Curt then call Carmel and Beth. If you need them they will come over.”

“They have families and Beth is in Florida for another week.”

Right. Call Carmel and at least let her know what’s going on. Greg can watch the kids for a couple of hours. I wish I was there Jay.”

“I know me too. Love you.”

Stay safe Sweetie, Love you too.”

I called Carmel and it went to voice mail. I was being silly I can deal with this on my own. I don’t need to create more stress for myself or others by being a nuisance Still I went to the basement, dug out my dad’s old baseball bat, and brought it up to bed with me after checking all the windows and locks. I wasn’t hungry anymore and I decided to watch some old movies until I fell asleep.

My cell rang as I was about to drift off. I looked, it was Curt and I answered eagerly. My stomach jumped both good and bad.

I wanted to say goodnight.” Curt said quietly. He’d called every night this week to say good night. We chatted a little every night but he said he preferred to talk in person. Texting wasn’t his favourite and so he rarely did.

“Goodnight.” I smiled and glanced at the end of the wooden bat leaned up against my bedside.

How was your day?” He asked.

“Stressful. How was yours?”

Long. I’m glad to be home. Everett is looking forward to meeting you Sunday. Stressful how?

“I had a run in with the other guy. Bill.” I hadn’t mentioned Bill’s name to Curt yet.

Are you okay? Was it bad?

“I’m okay. Yes it was bad.” Could I tell him? Should I? I should but I did not want him upset.

Do you want to come over?

“No. I’m a big girl I can suck it up; besides that would be awkward.”

What happened?

“He yelled, I yelled back. I made him leave and…”

Jayla love, you don’t sound okay.

“I am. I’m just tired. Tomorrow’s a busy day and I’m very excited for Sunday.”

You should be. It’s going to be fun. Are you sure you’re okay?

“Yes. I’ll see you Sunday.” Now that I had heard Curt’s voice what happened seemed less terrifying. I can handle this.

I’ll call you tomorrow.

“Sweet dreams Curt.”

With you in them, they always are love. Night.

I felt better, but I should have told him everything, but I don’t want to drag him into this while he has his son over. I’m a grown woman and Bill would be stupid insane to come back. I’ll tell Curt what happened on Sunday after Everett is back with his mom. I touched the handle of the bat, snuggled under the bed-sheets and I drifted off to sleep with my phone in my hand.

To be continued…

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved

Next Chapter: Birthday BBQ

Create

5 comments on “#24 I Can Handle This (Waking Up Jayla)

  1. Nel says:

    This man is just so understanding about everything. I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jayla you can handle. No problem stay strong .. Mandy is a nice friend..
    Bill you are a idiot.. How can you say such awful things to her..
    Curt you are a sweetheart and very understanding..
    This guy is very nice..
    Waiting for sunday
    Thank you for this update

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

