#15 Unconventional Date (Waking Up Jayla)

This story contain’s sexual content, violence, coarse language and consumption of alcohol it is rated R and 18+

Read from the start: Click Here

Unconventional Date (Waking Up Jayla)

Curt showed up and grinned right up into his warm brown eyes when I opened the door. The butterflies in my stomach approved of his white button down shirt and beige pants framing his toned body. Not cargo or pleated shorts thank god. He looked good enough to plop into a fashion magazine and I was glad I dressed nice.

“You are one ravishing woman.” Curt eyed my coral summer spaghetti strap shirt and dark denim shorts. The little white flowers embroidered on the hem of the shirt neckline were so cute, and yet I know it hugged my body in all the right ways.

“Thank you.” I said as I stepped out of the house. “You’re not so shabby yourself Curt.”

“Shall we?” He held out his arm and led me to his car.

My doubts melted away and the tension I’d been harbouring evaporated until the car door closed. It came back with the memory of Bill trying to force himself into me. I waited until we were arrived at our destination before talking. Unfortunately, I was still a bit shaken from Bill and the more I thought about it the more unsettled it made me. I don’t know if Curt sensed my tension or if he was nervous, which seemed silly, but he let me sit in silence.

I smiled as we got out of the car. I know it’s weird, but I love parks at night. Not the small ones with shady dealings going on, but big well-lit and busy parks. This one was not close to my house but I’ve been here with my sister Asha and my nephew Henry before. They live only a few blocks away. We were on the opposite side of the massive park from the playground.

Curt had a half smile on his face as he went to the trunk and handed me a modern metal framed blue cloth picnic basket and he took out a large blanket and closed the trunk.

“Interesting.” I said quietly. I had no idea what he was up to. A picnic at night? In a park? So far this wasn’t what I expected.

“You seem to dislike conventional date ideas. So I thought I could take one and mix it up a bit.” Curt said as we walked.

It was true about conventional dates. My therapist and I came to the conclusion that my marriage was all a vain attempt at what I perceived is necessary to be conventional. Paul was Mr. boring and did the usual dinner or movie or dancing dates. Until I had sex with him then it was just sex and hanging out at his apartment until I got pregnant. My therapist agrees that my new desire to veer away from it is my way of searching out what I gave up for an ideal that never happened. I wonder what she would say about Bill last night.

I shrugged not sure what to say to Curt. I didn’t want to blurt out the issues I was working so hard to fix.

“To be honest Jayla it made me think. Why do the things that are expected? Why not do things we might actually like. I’m taking a gamble here. After all, the competition might be tough.”

I pursed my lips and turned my head away as we walked. Bill had some apologizing to do and so far, he’s fallen short on that. There might not be competition after what happened if there ever was any. All sensibility said I should to drop Bill like a hotcake because he was a creepy jerk last night. Only I really do like him. Except he’s like Paul. Maybe he isn’t. I was too confused and this train of thought wasn’t fair to Curt or myself.

We came up over a hill to a flat open field often used for carnivals, festivals, sports and anything that required an open green area. My grin was unrestrained. Curt picked well.

The large open space was dotted with couples and small and even large groups of people. Chatting, laughing and sitting on blankets, folding chairs and seating things I didn’t recognize. At the far end of the field was a large white structure that resembled a movie screen. Upon closer inspection, I could see speakers on the fringes of the field. There were people selling snacks and drinks and glowing things. I glanced at my wrist with my glowing bracelets. I didn’t miss the police patrolling and eyeing everyone carefully; this was still a big city after all.

A movie. He was taking me to a movie but in a park and at night. I involuntarily clapped my hands and bounced on my feet. Not a conventional idea at all.

“How fun! How did I not know about this?” It was a good question. I could care less what the movie is.

“It’s new-ish. Part of a community relationship building project.” Curt found a spot that wasn’t too crowded and set out the blanket and I set the basket on one corner. I looked up at the overcast sky and hoped the rain would hold out. The last time I checked the weather network it said a chance of a thunderstorm and that alone had me nervous, never mind being with a guy who is just all in all amazing.

We sat cross-legged on the blanket and Curt opened the basket. He took out a container of cut up fruit and one of cheese and crackers. He handed me a bottle of water.

“I hope you don’t mind water.”

“I actually don’t care for juice. I like pop on occasion but I love water.”

“Alcohol’s not legal.” He nodded at a police officer in uniform wandering by. “And I don’t drink on Sunday’s. Or much at all.”

I picked at the label on the bottle hating that Bill got me drunk on purpose. He knew what my limit was and even said next time he’d cut me off sooner. “I’m a lightweight.”

Curt chuckled and opened the fruit. “I remember.”

My face burned in the summer heat. Right how could I forget so soon that Curt met me when I was tipsy from wine. I was more than glad Curt didn’t sneak any to the park and wasn’t suggesting it later either.

“Damn Jayla you are the cutest thing I swear.”

I liked the flattery and a delicious nervousness spread through me. The startling difference between this, and how Bill made me feel was embarrassing.

“Did you have a good weekend with your son?” I realized I don’t know his son’s name. Should I ask?

“I did. Thanks for asking. I wish I could spend more time with him.”

“That must be hard. Um… Can I ask his name?”

Curt looked sideways at me as he picked a grape from the container. “Everett. I can’t believe I didn’t tell you. I usually talk about him too much.” He held the grape up and pulled it away when I reached for it. I smiled and opened my mouth for him to pop it in.

I finished the overly sweet fruit as he ate one himself. “Well it’s not like I’ve given you a chance to tell me much of anything.”

“Decided to give me a shot have you?” Curt held up a small strawberry half and I ate it.

“Maybe.” I smiled slyly and looked away. If I was going to be fair, I had to be honest. “I was married.”

“Really?”

“Yes I was married over five years. Not including the year of separation. It was final just before we met and it was a messy divorce. I don’t want to talk about him or what happened. Not with you yet. I’m over it.” I scratched my head. “I think I am. Now I’m just trying to figure out who I am and what I want. I have two sisters and a wonderful brother in law and a nephew I adore. I live for my friends and family.”

“Divorced. That explains a few things. Are your sisters as hot as you?”

“Weird question. No. They’re much hotter. I’m the ugly duckling of the family that never became the swan.”

“Nope.” Curt said harshly. “I’m not going to listen to you say crap like that. Do you honestly think you’re not drop dead gorgeous?”

I laughed, I didn’t mean to. “Curt I know I’m good looking but trust me compared to them, I’m the ugly one. I’m okay with how I look, honest.”

“Good because I can’t stand when a hot woman acts ugly by pretending they don’t know they are hot.”

“Okay.”

We paused in conversation for him to feed me more fruit and then some Swiss on a savory rosemary cracker. This was by far the best date I’ve ever been on and it was just starting.

“My turn.” Curt brushed a crumb from my chin as I chewed. “Everett is the result of a broken condom on a one-night stand. Without the alcohol, ramped up hormones of a night out dancing, his mom and I don’t mesh. Lucky for Everett we respect each other and Tash is a great mom.”

“So you’re friends?”

“More or less, I guess we are. So can I ask what you do for a living?”

“Right. Rude me wouldn’t tell you before. I work at Sourest Tech. I’m in fact check and continuity assurance.” It’s a large company that works with video game, movie and digital advertisements.

“Cool so you make sure everything shown is accurate?”

“It’s a fun job and I’m good at it.”

“Do you want more?” Curt held up the two food containers. I shook my head with a small smile and he put them away.

“What do you do?” I asked.

“Imports and exports mostly, it’s boring stuff. I make sure the underlings do their jobs so everyone else can do their jobs.”

“Ooh management.” I chuckled. “Suit and tie?”

“Sexy ones too.” He teased.

The screen lit up with the opening of the movie. No preshow, commercials, or previews. I will admit that I got a bit girly when the Princess Bride started up.

To be continued…

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved

Next Chapter: Thunder And Lightning

Uniform

One comment on “#15 Unconventional Date (Waking Up Jayla)

  1. […] Next Chapter: Unconventional Date […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

