#6 Perfectly Romantic (Waking Up Jayla)

This story contain’s sexual content, violence, coarse language and consumption of alcohol it is rated R and 18+

Read from the start: Click Here

Perfectly Romantic (Waking Up Jayla)

The following day I wallowed in my self-inflicted misery. I know it had nothing to do with Paul and me. It was Curt. I did like him, but I wasn’t ready for him to find out about who I was. Was, is the operative word, but still, it wasn’t flattering. I married young for all the wrong reasons. Mistaking excitement and fun for love. I had managed to shake this by the afternoon and even avoided Bill for no good reason. I received an abnormal amount of emails from him and answered most of them. I adored that he was so determined and actually quite sweet in his messages.

I was so busy it felt as if I were catapulted through the week. It wasn’t until Friday that Bill managed to catch me in person. It’s a big office.

“Good morning Jayla.” Bill sidled up to me and nudged my arm. “So have you decided where and when?”

I stared at him blankly.

“Our next date.” He said quietly and smiled.

I’ve been avoiding answering that question until I was sure I found the best date possible. Something we had in common. “Oh. Um. Are you free tonight?”

“Yes.” Bill nodded.

“Okay. I’ll meet you at the entrance to the botanical gardens at eight.” The look on his face was priceless. He reined in the expression of horror in time not to be too apparent.

“Oh are you allergic?”

“No, no. It’s fine. I’ll see you there.” He glanced around to make sure we were alone, pecked my cheek and wandered away.

I did like Bill so I wanted to do something he might like too. He was the one that brought up gardening. Oh well. They lit the gardens up beautifully at night and a sunset walk would be a good chance to get to know one another. It was my idea of a perfectly romantic date.

I sat at my desk half working and half contemplating why I wanted to get to know Bill but not Curt. By the time I packed up for the day I didn’t have an answer for myself. They were both great, so what was my problem with Curt?

I went home, showered, groomed and had a light dinner. I dressed in a very pretty and flattering lilac dress. I packed a small bottle of bug repellant just in case and headed out to the gardens.

I sat primly on the bench outside the entrance until eight twenty when Bill finally showed up. I was just about to leave and more than annoyed.

“I’m sorry Jayla, my mom needed me to change her porch light and it took longer than expected. She’s terrified to not leave it on at night.”

It sounded like he was being truthful. It was sweet that he takes care of his elderly mother. He’s mentioned her a few times over the years I’ve known him. She had him late if I’m not mistaken and she called him his miracle child. Why I remember that is beyond me.

Bill was dressed jazzy again. This time he had a fedora that matched his suspenders. It was somewhat cute, but not sexy. I decided to take the high road and took his offered hand.

We walked and discussed the various plants and stopped to read the little plaque signs identifying them. I made a game of trying to figure out what the plant was before we got to the sign. I was winning twelve to five. I’m not sure if he was trying or not. Maybe he was being nice and letting me win. My favourite so far was a pink rose-bush that even Bill had to admit was splendid in its abundant blooms.

The sunset wasn’t much of a display and the lack of light didn’t do much to cool the humid night. The lights along the paths and in the trees came on and it was, as I expected, magical. I smiled and bathed in the beauty of it. Bill looked at his watch for the third time this evening.

“Are you late for something?”

“No.” He smiled. “You look beautiful tonight.” He looked around. “But the bugs are starting to bite.”

“Oh I brought bug spray.”

“That poison? You can’t put that on your body. No, you are not putting that on your body. We could just leave. Maybe find somewhere romantic?”

I chuckled. “What could possibly be more romantic than a lit up botanical garden at night?”

“A cozy nook, some wine and candlelight.” He smiled suggestively. “We could make out.”

That did sound nice. I looked around at the gardens and the romantic couples stealing kisses and leaning on the other as they walked. Bill held my hand; it was only our second date after all.

“Maybe we can do that on our next date.” I suggested and he stopped near a bridge.

“So there will be another date?” He smiled so sweetly at me. I got the nervous butterflies and hoped he’d kiss me again. Only I hoped he didn’t ask to.

I shrugged. “Sure, you’re a nice guy and interesting.” This time when he leaned down, I closed my eyes. His gentle kiss was nice, not too aggressive. It was warm and comforting like a spiced cider on a winter day. Eventually he opened his mouth a little and pressed closer. I wondered why he was so methodical, as if he were following a step-by-step instruction manual. The smell of the flowers in the warm summer air was very romantic. I felt the stirring of arousal begin in my core as his tongue brushed mine. He abruptly backed off and slapped his neck.

“Let’s get out of here before I’m eaten alive by these blood sucking she-devils.”

I gave in. “So next week, maybe we could risk dinner?”

“That is a great idea Jayla. I’ll cook for you at my place. I have taken classes…”

I half listened to him talk about the various methods to prepare vegetables and the use of spices. Until he said, “Of course I skipped the meat classes.”

“Why?”

“I’m a vegetarian.”

I did not know that. I’m not. I have no problem with not eating meat; I can go weeks without touching it. But, never? I don’t have a problem with it and enjoy it too much.

“You eat meat.” Bill looked at his watch again and got quiet.

“I do. Is that a problem?”

He smiled as he approached his car. “No, no. It’s fine. I’ll just have to open you to the world of vegetarian cooking.”

“I eat vegetarian dishes all the time. They go great with chicken.” I laughed. He did not. That might have been insensitive. “Sorry Bill.” I shook my smile off. “I don’t mean to be rude.”

“Next Saturday night I’ll make you a real dinner. Red or White?”

“Surprise me.”

“That I can do.” He kissed me quickly before unarming his car alarm. He got in, blew me a kiss and drove off. Something tells me he didn’t like my outdoors date choice. I looked back at the garden wondering if it would be lame to go back in alone. I sighed. Yes, yes it would.

To be continued…

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved

Next Chapter: Morning Glory

Catapult

4 comments on “#6 Perfectly Romantic (Waking Up Jayla)

  1. Nel says:

    Bill is such a nerd, lol. It’s cute but seems like Jayla’s hoping for a little more even though she’s trying. “I like vegetarian dishes. They go good with chicken.” Hahaha I need to use that!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

