#3 Too Good To Be True (Waking Up Jayla)

This story contain’s sexual content, violence, coarse language and consumption of alcohol it is rated R and 18+

Read from the start: Click Here

Too good To Be True (Waking Up Jayla)

I rubbed the back of my hand absently as I stood from the patio chair. Curt started tidying up our trays when someone in uniform came out to clear them. I backed away and made my way to the sidewalk. I had no idea what just happened, but when he touched me it was too intense.

“I’m not going to hurt you Jayla.” Curt said as he caught up to me. “I’m sorry if I upset you.”

I stopped and looked at him. “Are you for real?”

“What do you mean?”

“Well you show up all knight in shining armor, make me laugh, deflect Tripp the idiot and just happen to offer me my favorite naughty food. No offense, but you seem too good to be true.”

“I see. So manners and common courtesy are a bad thing? When did that happen?”

I started walking again. I was being rude. Why was I being rude? Curt should just walk away, I would, and I wanted him to.

“Someone really did a number on you.” He said quietly.

“I suppose.” I picked up my pace heading toward main street.

I learned the hard way that my sham marriage hadn’t been a one-way problem. In one volatile argument over dividing possessions, he managed to let me know I settled into our complacency and stopped trying after the third miscarriage. Paul also said I was a bad lay and that I was passionless and as boring in bed as I am out of it. At first, I figured it was just his spite, but it was partly true. I was boring; at least to him I’m boring. I don’t think I am so maybe someone else will like me. Curt kept pace.

“But that’s my problem. You know what? Lesson learned. Dating is a waste of time, a… a farce.”

“How sad.” Curt stepped in front of me forcing me to stop.

I eyed a parked taxi on the street with is sign lit and driver reading a book.

“You know what I think Jayla?”

“No. What?”

“You like me.”

“I don’t know you.”

“That doesn’t matter” His eyes sparkled too much to be real. “You know what else I think?”

I side stepped and he moved to block me. Damn he’s fast. “Fine. What?”

“That you’re rudeness is all defense. I want to get to know you Jayla. Give me a chance?”

“Why?”

“Why not? You’re beautiful, I like you and I’m a nice guy.”

“You can’t like me I’m a stranger. I believe the nice guy bit. Save yourself the trouble and find a nice girl. I’m not nice.”

Wow I dug deep to find my inner bitch. I am a nice girl. What’s my problem?  I was not prepared for him to grab my face and plant his lips on mine. I was doubly not prepared for the blast of arousal that turned me to molten lava. It took what seemed like forever to realize I was kissing him back. The jeer of a passerby broke the spell and I backed off.

I could hear Paul laughing in my mind. The last time I saw him he teased me about how desperate I am. With my new clothes, weight loss and my nice haircut. ‘No real man will want you.’ He had laughed. ‘You’re boring Jayla and without money you’re nothing.’

I learned that somehow Paul had managed to disappear most of my inheritance. I couldn’t get any proof of where it went. It was a joint account, he had insisted, there was no prenuptial agreement and he had the right to spend it if I gave him access. Which I did. I thought he loved me and I thought I was in love with him. He had been so sweet before he married me; he was kind and made me laugh…

“I’m sorry Curt. I can’t do this again.”

The tears welled up as I ran for the taxi.

“Drive!” I said before I closed the door. Kudos to the driver, he dropped his book on the seat, turned the key, shifted to drive and pulled away before Curt made it to the car.

To be continued…

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved

Next Chapter: Just Jazzy

Farce

6 comments on “#3 Too Good To Be True (Waking Up Jayla)

  1. […] Next Chapter: Too Good To Be True  […]

    Like

  2. Nel says:

    Oh Curt. Oh Jayla! Oh what a good installment! I didn’t think he’d kiss her but YES! Shit, though, how is he going to find her??

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Idiot Paul even he took the money. What if she is fat and boring she has her own personality. She will be damn more interested than that skinny ppl.
    Curt you are really nice guy And I hope you make jayla open up and give herself a chance
    Thank you for notifications..
    I was busy with my project thesis. That the reason the previous chapters and comment on them I have read them today commenting every chapter us beautiful and jayla is a strong women..
    Loved all updates..
    Waiting for next

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

