#36 All Good Things… (Blythe and Mac)

Read previous chapters or from the start here: Blythe and Mac’s story 

All Good Things…

Mac stood still, unable to move, shrouded in a blanket of emotional uncertainty.  He could not yet look away from the pretty face laying so peacefully in the ornate coffin. The soft scent of flowers everywhere in the small room seemed out-of-place. The people around Mac spoke in hushed tones. The kind you only hear from the grieving. He had to be here no matter that many said he didn’t have to show for the viewing. Since he had no intention of going to the actual funeral, this was the best and the least he could do. Mac had to see her for himself. He had already endured the forced empty conversations with her parents, family and friends. He kept it brief and polite as was expected.

After a deep slow breath in, Mac exhaled silently. It was over. In the end, there was nothing they could do to save her. Now it was time to move on and put this all behind him.

Mac turned with a nod and I knew we were done here. I put my hand on his arm and walked with him out of the funeral home. I don’t think he could feel my hand or see my face. Death does funny things to people for different reasons. He would shake the unease of this day and snap back to life.

The bright sun blazed on the newly fallen snow from this morning. He stopped when we reached his car and glanced back at the funeral home a block away. I reached up to touch his cheek, the sun caught the diamond of my engagement ring and he smiled so brightly my heart leapt with joy.

Mac put his hand behind my head, turned my body and leaned me against the car. “Thank God that’s over.” Mac chuckled. “You know, funerals make me horny.”

“Do they now?” I asked. “That is a creepy-weird thing to say let alone have happen.”

He pressed his body against me, forcing me against the cold vehicle. “Only because the remind me to live my life to it’s fullest.” His lips nearly touched mine. “And I plan to do exactly that Blythe.”

Mac’s lips touched mine and I swear I melted the snow in a six-foot radius. How this man-made my body react so instantly, was beyond me.

For weeks Mac sat by my side holding my hand, taking care of me and keeping me company as I recovered from the gunshot to the chest. I nearly died. Thankfully, the police were still parked just outside the apartment. They came running when they heard the 911 dispatch and kept me alive until the fire truck and ambulance arrived.

I’m a lucky woman in more ways than I can count. As soon as I could manage my morning run he planned an extravagant Christmas eve proposal. It was cheesy and romantic and our mothers cried.

Lila eloped with Tom two months ago and she’s going to beat me to becoming a mother. She and Tom over the moon happy about it.

Jill had suffered a concussion from Mac hitting her and recovered. Her pending conviction for attempted murder among other charges. Including vandalism. The paint of several cars, including mine was found in her ‘J’ rhinestone key-chain. She harassed and stocked Mac, he never told me because he figured she would tired of the game. Yes, guilt nags Mac on that even if I assure him there was no way for him to know she was actually insane. She was also the one that caused the construction delays, I don’t know why that one bothers me so much, but it does.

The news of Mac’s and my engagement tipped Jill over the edge and she killed herself a week ago in prison. Her family wasn’t that excited for us to come to the visitation at the funeral home, but we went anyway. We both needed closure and offered our sincere condolences. We both wanted to check to make sure it was really her in the coffin. Why Mac tried to get her help was a mystery to everyone but me. His heart was always in the right place even if it’s displaced. She didn’t want it and told him so in not so polite ways.

Breathless and flushed Mac smiled at me as I opened my eyes slowly. “I’m going to take you home and make you scream my name.”

I smiled slyly at the man I love more than a person should be allowed to love. “Oh are you now? I don’t think you can.”

Mac’s lusty blue eyes made my knees week. “Challenge accepted.” He said with so much promise I moved swiftly and got into the car. I smiled as Mac got in, buckled up and drove toward our new house.

The end.

I hope you enjoyed reading my story of Blythe and Mac as much as I enjoyed writing it.
Thank you for all your kind words of encouragement and heartfelt compliments.

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved
Blanket

19 comments on “#36 All Good Things… (Blythe and Mac)

  1. Michael says:

    Wonderful final chapter. Tied things up nicely and left us feeling a happy ending…and also anticipating another happy ending when they get home🔥I imagine it is a little hard to end and leave these characters? You have put a lot into their journey. Then again, they are always just a page away.💞

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nel says:

    Aaaaah! Thank you cim for this ride! You had me going for a second at the beginning talking about death and not saying names. Thank you for sharing this amazing story with us and I look forward to the next one! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cwhiteweb says:

    This was amazing! Truly enjoyed it. This should be a book, it would give stuff like Sweet Valley High (or whatever the new generation kids are reading now) a good run for their money! Real talent!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mywords2228 says:

    Okay, I’m sad that this story is over. But, I’m happy the way the story ended. I’m glad Blythe and Mac got their happy ending. And Jill with to jail and yet sad she was so crazy she ended her life. This was a great story and now I guess I’ll start reading your short stories.
    I am a fan of your writing and look forward to your future writing. For your talent will take you far, you just really know how to write a story that gets and keeps your audiences attention.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That was an absolutely outstanding story, each character explained too the Tee, very well written!
    I loved​ it!!!💓💞👍 Thanks so much for sharing 😒😋

    Liked by 1 person

  6. […] Next Chapter: #36 All Good Things… […]

    Like

  7. Congratulations on a spectacularly written novel novelette? Doesn’t matter which category. There was nothing superfluous about your writing. Every word mattered, every word counted and made a point. It was a pleasure to read beginning to end. I’m given to skimming when a book gets boring but I never skipped a word phrase or sentence. I’m thrilled I found you and I look forward to reading more of your work.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Such high praise from you is uplifting. I am grateful for your comments and compliments. Thank you sincerely. I think it’s a novelette? I’ll have to check on that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

