#35 Broken (Blythe & Mac)

Read previous chapters or from the start here: Blythe and Mac’s story 

Broken.

It felt like forever giving the officer all the information I didn’t have. Mac was stiff and short with his unhelpful answers and went around taking pictures with his cellphone. Officer Barth followed me as I assessed there was a lot of damage, but nothing seemed to be missing. The photographer left after taking pictures of all the damage and evidence. Mac and I were finally alone.

I looked around at what used to be my home, my sanctuary, but everything was wrong here. Broken. My favorite vase was smashed, my plants were knocked over and two had their roots exposed.

Shock, that’s what it must be. Mac pulled me into a comforting warm hug and let him. This would have been worse if I was alone. I pushed away and went to the kitchen. I stopped and looked at the broken mess on the floor. I didn’t come in here with the officer since there was nothing of real value in my kitchen. I was wrong. Smashed on the floor were the beautiful tiles Mac gave me. That did it. Tears welled up and spilled over. There was so much thought and love behind those tiles and they were irreplaceable. Mac frowned at the broken art and once again hugged me to his chest.

“Blythe. I’m sorry this happened.” He stroked my hair.

“It’s just broken things. I can replace them.” Them yes, but would I ever feel at home here again? At this moment, the answer is no.

“Still, this is horrible. Do you want to go to my place or stay here tonight? I’m staying with you either way.”

I was about to answer when the sound of a key in the lock at my front door made my insides lurch. It was probably just Lawrence and Kevin, they went to get coffee and promised to come and help clean up. The door slammed and we both turned.

“You!” Jill seethed and held a small gun pointed in our direction. Holy shit a gun.  A real gun. This is a first for me. How did she get a key? That was an odd thing to worry about when facing a mad woman with a real looking weapon pointed my way.

If anyone had asked me if I thought that could happen I would have laughed. Then again I never imagined having my apartment trashed. Guess I know who did that now. Jill looked bedraggled and dirty. As if she’d just trashed an apartment.

“Jill?”

“Oh shut up bitch. Oh no Mr. Waterstone, you can put your hands up.”

Mac did as told. Jill moved to get a better angle and my mind cleared. Even a small gun can kill easily. “Why are you doing this?”

“Are you fucking serious?” Jill shrieked the words. “First you take my client, my contract, my promotion, and my fucking office. Then you steal the man I,” She pointed to herself with her free hand. “I was supposed to get! Not you!” Jill waived the gun around. It made me nervous on top of terrified. She was insane. I held my hands up palms out and stepped away from Mac. We both didn’t need to be in the line of fire.

“Stop!” Jill yelled. The manic wide-eyed look on her face nearly made me puke. “Dont’ move. I lost my job because of you, I lost my condo, my reputation is destroyed all because of you Blythe.”

I had no idea what to say. I don’t think she would hear anything I had to say anyway. Mac had other plans and spoke up.

“Jill, think about what you’re doing. Stop before this goes too far. I can help you find a better position than even Blythe has. Just put the gun down.”

“Bullshit. Don’t try to stop me now. The only thing that will help is for Bitch-face Blythe to get what she deserves. Then, and only then, will I be free.”

I had no idea she was this distraught. All that happened was her own doing. Wasn’t it? I couldn’t recall anything I did out of spite or vengeance. I opened my mouth to finally say something that I hoped would calm Jill.

“Die! You bitch!” The loud crack-bang followed by the strange searing pain in my chest stole any and all words from me. I hit my head on the counter edge as I fell to the broken tile covered floor of my kitchen. The blur of Mac moving to body-check Jill was all I could focus on. I’ve never seen someone punch someone in earnest before. Mac’s hand crashed into Jill’s face with a sickening crunch. What a gross sound. Mac took the gun and put it in the drawer above where I laid and knelt beside me. I heard Mac frantically talking into his cellphone as he put his hand behind my back.

“No I think it stayed inside. Hurry.”

I blinked lazily. I didn’t want to breathe anymore. It hurt too much to bother. My head hurt in a fuzzy dull way. My vision cleared when I blinked. Ah. I must be crying. That made sense. Mac wiped the strand of hair from my face I didn’t know was there. I struggled to inhale and gave up trying. I’ll try again later.

“Blythe.” Mac was pressing hard on my chest. Maybe that’s why I couldn’t take a breath. I wanted to tell him to stop so I could breathe. The effort to talk seemed too much. I’ll ask him to stop later.

“No, no, Blythe keep your eyes open. Breathe dammit! No, it’s not supposed to be this way. Don’t you dare Blythe.”

Why was he so frantic? I felt calm. The pain slipped away and left me empty. I couldn’t even feel his hands on my chest.

“Blythe. Oh my Blythe, breathe baby. Stay with me.”

Where was I going to go? I couldn’t move my body. I couldn’t even feel it. Not to mention he was holding me down. His face is so beautiful. I know that’s not an ideal description for a man, but it’s true. I was smitten the moment he walked into my office. Why did I fight him? Right my job. I had to keep my job safe. I did that. I tried to breathe again, I have no idea if it worked or not. Why wouldn’t it?

Mac leaned down and kissed my forehead. He was so upset. It was just a messy apartment. Jill wasn’t a danger. He took care of that. I’m so confused.

“Blythe. You listen to me. We’re supposed to get married, bicker and make love as often as our bodies let us. We are going to drive each other crazy. Have babies and be happy…” His tears plopped on my face.

I was too tired to tell him to stop being silly, why was he crying? I heard him tell me he loved me as I closed my eyes. I’d tell him I loved him back later.

To be continued…

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved

Next Chapter: #36 All Good Things…

Roots

17 comments on “#35 Broken (Blythe & Mac)

  1. Sheryl says:

    Wow… I don’t know what to say…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nel says:

    I knew it was that bitch but now I’m on the verge of tears! I didn’t think she had it in her. Poor Mac! He has to be dying inside. I can’t even right now! Please tell me the next part is coming bright and early! 😭

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mywords2228 says:

    Oh no I didn’t see this coming, poor blythe and Mac. I hope there is something good coming next for I don’t want this story to end this way. And I hope Jill gets what she deserves because I love this story and I want Blythe and Mac to be happy and have a happy ending.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. cwhiteweb says:

    WHAAAT!! What’s with all this “i’ll.. later” nonsense!! Goodness, this is good!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a twist, omg didn’t see that coming, but I knew if anything happened it’d be that Jill….Smdh, wow!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

