#20 Plus One (Blythe & Mac)

Rated R, NSFW

Read previous chapters or from the start here: Blythe and Mac’s story 

Plus One

That simple touch to my back was so intimate and casual. The type of contact I dreamed of. The gentle touch to say I love you. Only I was kidding myself. Maybe someday I’ll find a man who took pleasure in reassuring me with a touch. My mother would say; A strong woman doesn’t need reassurance from a man. Maybe not, but I think it’s nice to have.

I tuned back into conversation as Mr. Seagate commented on how little I was at the job site.

“It’s remarkable.” Tom began. “The design was so flawless and the artists were told what to do, they all seem to not need direction. Other than making sure we’re not botching it, Blythe left us with little room for error.”

All eyes turned in my direction. It was odd that I wasn’t needed much. I took advantage of that to avoid Mac. It was weird to have Tom so completely in my corner.

“Honestly I just made sure that if I lost my job the design would be solid.”

There was chuckles all around except from Lila and myself.

“Why on Earth would you be fired?” She asked so concerned I almost felt like leaning over Mac to comfort her.

“Long story. The short of it is I can be abrasive.”

“And I’m a spoiled brat right?” Mac stared right at me. I could see the anger beneath his jovial façade.

“More or less.” I sipped my wine, the magical elixir of courage and racked my brain for a subject change. I didn’t have to. Lila did it for me. She went off on how Mac’s impulsiveness has gotten him into some stagnant deals. The glass abomination of a restaurant being one of them. All the time she did what she was entitled to do. Hang off of Mac.

Luck was on my side, if only a little. Seagate and Tom both had places to get to, and that was my out. Away from the torment. I was moments from freedom when Seagate announced he’d take me back to my car. I was just about to decline when Mac spoke up.

“I’ll take her.”

I glanced to see Tom taking Lila out. Seagate took his leave and I cursed them all silently.

“No need. I can call a cab.”

“Now who’s being the brat Blythe?”

“Stop.” I held up my hand. “Please stop. I can’t keep doing this.” I was too close to tears. “I’ll take a cab.” I didn’t need to look to know he was following me. I spun on my heel at the sidewalk in front of the restaurant. “What do you want? Aside from the obvious?”

 “Blythe.”

“No.” I shook my head. “I know that tone. Please, just stop before you start. I just want to go home without any more drama.” A taxi pulled up and a couple got out. I flagged the driver and he nodded at me. “I can’t-” I stopped as Lila came strolling over from the parking lot. I was confused I thought she left with Tom.

“My cell was in Tom’s car. You ready to go BicMac?”

Gross a nickname. Mac opened his mouth not taking his eyes from mine. “Yes.”

“Do you want to come dancing with us Blythe?”

I looked at Lila hoping I did not have the horror on my face that I felt. Like I want to watch her grind up against him. “No thank you. I have some work to do.”

“Oh well, maybe next time. See you at the grand opening.” Lila turned to look at Mac as I got into the taxi. She didn’t see my tears but I think he might have.

I managed to survive the next two days. I wasn’t needed at the restaurant. It was finished other than stocking the bar and kitchen. The grand opening was in two days. It was going to be a grand event and the amount of press from the leaked rumors had reservations booked for three months already.

I picked up the little green unopened envelope from my kitchen counter and opened it. There was no point delaying the inevitable any longer. The grand opening. The invitation was for me and a plus one. “Plus one.” I threw the card on the table and went to take the hottest shower my skin could stand.

I put on my favorite satin pink pajamas and fuzzy matching socks and went to my kitchen to find a snack. I glanced at the invitation as someone banged on my door. I jumped, slipped and fell on my ass. Half-laughing half groaning in pain, I got up rubbing my backside and peeked through the peephole.

Mac stood there eyes pinned to the door.

“Shit.”

Maybe I should woman-up and stop avoiding him. Give him a piece of my mind. Let him have it. Maybe then he’d just leave me alone. I planned to once I was done this project.

“I can hear you Blythe. Open the door.”

To be continued…

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved

Next Chapter: #21 I can’t do this 

Elixir

11 comments on “#20 Plus One (Blythe & Mac)

  1. Sheryl says:

    Yes please, open the door.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. cwhiteweb says:

    Actually, I don’t want her to open that door. She can be rude. I’m giving her permission to be rude. Or opening that door will be opening a can of worms! Don’t open Blythe 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  3. MsBad says:

    Hope she yells through the door, “Where’s Lila Big Mac!” And leaves him standing there all night!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

