#18 Too Close For Comfort (Blythe & Mac)

Rated R, NSFW

Read previous chapters or from the start here: Blythe and Mac’s story 

Too Close For Comfort

I met with my new clients that afternoon. A newlywed couple. Totally in love and hands-on. I was glad for the work and distraction. They were easy to please all I had to do was let them think my ideas were theirs and the deal was done.

I didn’t go snooping even though I wanted to know what happened to Jill, but it technically wasn’t my business.

I have to go to the restaurant every other day now until it was finished and would stop by before I went home. I gathered my things as Lawrence came bursting in my office.

“Ding dong the witch is dead. Way to go Dorothy.”

I finished putting my blazer on. “Pardon?”

“Jill. She got her ass canned.”

“That wasn’t my doing.”

“No, but she’ll see it that way. It was a long time coming.”

“No kidding.” I chuckled. “I have to go by the restaurant.”

Lawrence sighed and kissed my cheek. “Maybe he won’t be there.”

“I’m hoping not.”

I went out to my car half expecting to see it keyed and the tires slashed. That was a silly notion. Why would Jill… I paused and ran my hand over where the scratch was. “Would she?”

I shook my head and got in. I drove to the restaurant preparing for the possibility of running into Mac and Miss Perfect for him. I found parking and walked toward Tom who was standing outside talking to a woman in a black pantsuit. She walked away as I approached.

“What was that about?” I asked him.

“Oh Blythe.” Tom smiled. “How was your date?”

“Fine. What did she want?”

“A work and safety rep.”

“Let me guess someone called in that the safety regulations were being ignored.”

“Yes this morning. I’ve been dealing with it all damned day. Place is empty and another day in fucking delays.”

I put my hand on his arm. “I’m sorry Tom I know who did this. She was fired this afternoon. She called the inspector too.” I looked down. This was partly my fault. I was too busy to keep a closer eye on Jill.

“Fired? Great. So either she’ll back off or go for gold.” Tom hooked his finger under my chin and made me look up. “Who is Jill and why would she do this?”

“Ex co-worker, she was supposed to be here no me and Jealousy.”

“Jealousy.” Tom snorted and let my chin go. “I know Jill. She’s done work for Mac’s father right?”

“Yes.” I nodded.

“I’m all for using sex appeal to land what you want, but that one takes it too far.” Tom patted my back.

Was I obviously upset? Yes I was, but only because Jill was causing trouble. Her being fired was justified, earned and not my problem.

“If you ask my Blythe I’m glad she wasn’t there. This restaurant is amazing and I don’t compliment things easily.”

“Thanks, but my part was minimal. Can I see the progress?”

He led me through; they were just putting the finishing touches on everything. In the light it looked somewhat like a stage, but when the lights were off it would be incredibly romantic. I couldn’t get over how amazing the flagstone and cobble stone flooring looked. Not tacky at all.

“The artists have outdone themselves.” I ran my hand over the cityscape wall. Up close, it was neat to see. The relief sculpting of the buildings in the distance was built over a light feature that would light up the ‘windows’ and give the illusion of buildings in the distance.

“They really have. I’m sorry to say, but I’m surprised at how… cool this is.”

“Me too.” I was. Lying was no use to Tom. He was good at sniffing them out.

A door slammed. “What the hell is going on?”

I jumped at Mac’s voice booming through the empty space.

“Or should I ask what the hell isn’t going on?” He stopped in his tracks when he saw me. The look on his face was a jumble. I couldn’t for the life of me tell if he was happy, sad, angry or not. “Blythe.” He breathed my name so quietly I almost didn’t hear it.

Tom glanced at me then back at Mac. “Health and safety inspection. The contractor cleared shop when she showed up. They’ll be back in the morning.” He walked the short distance to Mac leaving me standing by the bar.

“I have something to look into regarding these interruptions.” Tom said. Both men nodded and Tom left.

Damn. Mac closed the distance to me. I of course stood there like an idiot. My body humming stronger with every step he took.

“You left last night before I could talk to you.”

“Business or personal?”

He stopped a few inches from me. “Does it matter?”

I backed up and bumped into the bar. “Yes.” I looked over his shoulder for Lila. “Where’s Lila?”

Mac stepped closer pinning me to the bar by putting both hands on the wood to either side of me. “Does it matter?”

I could feel his body heat, or was it mine bouncing off of his back to me? My body betrayed me again. My knees nearly buckled as he lowered his face, nose to nose with me.

“Yes.” Oh good I can still talk.

“Why? Why does it matter?”

My back was arched over the edge of the bar and he leaned closer, our bodies touching. Our symbiotic breaths came short and huffed . There was no mistaking his desire pressed firmly against my stomach. I wanted nothing more than to forget he had Lila, and kiss him. I wanted to so badly it was painful. I parted my lips as he closed his eyes.

His cellphone rang out breaking the spell. He didn’t move and as the second ring sounded I pushed him away. I don’t want to be the other woman. I don’t want to be a fling.

“You should answer your phone.”

The lust left his eyes, replaced by a dark frustration as he pulled his phone from his pocket. “Mac.”

I gathered my wits and plotted my escape. I slipped sideways swiftly and made it all of two steps before his hand closed on my wrist.

“No I don’t care what you have to do, get it done by the end of the week. Call Tom if you need funding approval.”

Mac ended the call, tugged my arm and forced me to face him.

To be continued…

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved

Next Chapter: #19 Surprise Dinner Date

Symbiosis

5 comments on “#18 Too Close For Comfort (Blythe & Mac)

  1. reactionarytales says:

    Aaaah!!! The suspense!!! I have a love hate relationship with cliffhangers. I can’t wait for the next one!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I debated for a while about stopping there with this installment. It’s thrilling that you’re anticipation warrants so many exclamation marks. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mywords2228 says:

    Great story, I can’t wait to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] Next Chapter: #18 Too Close For Comfort […]

    Like

  5. […] That Matter. 147. Perceptions Unplugged – A symbiosis between an Introvert and society 148. Cimmerian Sentiment – #18 Too Close For Comfort 149. Awl and Scribe – Symbiosis 150. I wrote a book. Now what? – Building chemistry […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

