#14 Nobody’s Placeholder (Blythe & Mac)

Rated R, NSFW

Read previous chapters or from the start here: Blythe and Mac’s story 

Nobody’s Placeholder.

I turned on my heel and smacked right into Mac. His hands grabbed my arms to steady me before I fell. He looked angry, really angry. Not my problem.

“Excuse me.” I sidestepped him, forcing him to let me go and I walked quickly to my car. I heard him call after me and I ignored him. I was mortified, but in reality, I deserved it.

“Blythe!” He put his hand on the top of my car door forcing it closed before I got it two inches open. “Stop running away from me.”

I shook my head and sighed heavily. “I have to go. I have an appointment. Please remove your hand from my car.”

He pulled his hand away and moved it to the back of my neck. Before I could react, he was kissing me. Heaven help me I let him. I had no choice since my body betrayed me. I was instantly aroused and my muscles refused to move. All accept my lips of course. I managed to find the power to move my arms and pushed against his chest. He backed off and I gasped loudly.

“Don’t you dare tell me you don’t feel that Blythe.”

I did, I knew what he meant. This must be that insane sexual chemistry people talk about but isn’t real. Damn but it is. My acceptance to that fact was like a physical blow to the gut. I was close to tears and needed to get away from him. He had someone else a fabulous someone else. I had a job that would end abruptly if Seagate found out. Sure, I didn’t plan on staying at Seagate interiors forever, but to start over somewhere else? In addition with a tarnished rep? I’d be sunk. I wanted my own firm eventually, but to get there I needed experience and a name for myself. I needed a reputation for my design not my sleeping with a high-profile client and our highest profile client’s son. That’s all this could be, a fling. I would be the woman on the side, the fun until the real one came back.

“Just because you feel something.” I looked at my car, or rather his reflection in the window. “Doesn’t mean I feel the same way.” I opened the car door, gathered my courage and turned to face him. “You’re a good-looking man, and a good kisser and I like being kissed, but that’s all that was.”

I hoped he couldn’t see the truth, my insides shattering. This was absurd I barely knew him. “I must go. I have my job to do.”

“Go on a date with me Blythe.” He stopped me from closing the door. “Give me a chance to show you who I am.”

“I know who you are and I have my career to consider.”

“Blythe.” He pleaded.

“Mac.” I snapped his name. “I’m nobody’s placeholder.” I pulled my door shut, locked the doors, turned over the engine. As the tears started to fall I sped away leaving him staring after me. I cursed and slammed the palm of my hand on the steering wheel. How could he? How could he keep asking me to risk everything I’ve worked so hard for? All because he wants some fun while, his super amazing woman is in France. Freaking shopping in France. I’ve never wanted someone so badly. For sex, companionship or just to look at. Every time I closed my eyes at night, I saw his damned face smiling, teasing and laughing.

I stopped at my apartment to wash my face and reapply my makeup before going back out. I decided to change into something more casual and put on a pair of dark denim capri’s and a soft bubble-gum pink shirt. My face was flushed and the pink was bright enough to blame it on. I went to put my shoes back on and hesitated. I can’t have a fling with him but I could wear the shoes he gave me. “It’s for the best.” I said to myself while slipping my bare feet into the nude Jimmy Choo’s. “He’s not for me.”

The entire way to my appointment, I kept thinking about Tom’s comment. About how convenient it was that I got my promotion. I earned it. Didn’t I? The horrible sinking feeling that started with my rejecting Mac… again, turned into a landslide.

“Hey baby.”

My mom grinned and grabbed me into a hug. I love my mom. She is the most wonderful woman in the world. Yes I know I’m biased but I’m allowed to be. I can’t say I had any childhood trauma, or bad parents. There was not great drama to scar me. They were great, supportive, kind, smart, and they listened. They encouraged and nurtured my brother and I. My appointment was supper with my parents.

“What’s wrong?”

Those two words undid me and the tears came in sobs. She took me inside to the sitting room and when I settled enough, I told her everything.

To be continued…

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved

Next Chapter: #15 Talking it out

Acceptance

6 comments on “#14 Nobody’s Placeholder (Blythe & Mac)

  1. reactionarytales says:

    Oh Blythe. I agree with Mac. Stop running 😦 Let the chips fall where they may!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MsBad says:

    Hmm, can’t wait to hear mom’s advice!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] Next Chapter: #14 Nobody’s Placeholder […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

