#6 Lucky Streak (Blythe & Mac)

Rated R, NSFW

Read previous chapters or from the start here: Blythe and Mac’s story 

Lucky Streak

Stunned did not begin to describe how I felt. Mac just kissed me. Never in my life has a single straightforward kiss affected me so profoundly nor so instantly. I couldn’t tell if it was because I’d started the day in a haze of arousal or if it was him. I didn’t react to Tom or anyone at the office. I finally looked up at the source of my conflicting discomfort.

Mac’s dark blue gaze rooted me in place. “I would like you to go out to dinner and a show with me. Not on the clock.”

“Show?” Oh good I haven’t forgotten how to form actual words.

“The piano guys are playing tonight I have tickets.”

Of course he does. The scorching heat subsided enough for my brain to function again. There is a strict no dating of client’s policy for a reason. Jill and Clancy did not follow said rules neither did anyone else. However, I am one thing if nothing else. I don’t break rules. I can’t break rules. I swallowed hard and lifted my cellphone. “I just have a few more angles to get. I’m sorry Mr. Waterstone I already have plans for the evening and I apologize if I wasn’t clear.” I shook my head. It pained me to say this next part. “Don’t kiss me again. If you prefer I can have someone else take over.”

He narrowed his eyes with a slight sly smile “Would that free you up to go on a date with me?”

I shook my head again. I’ve worked too hard to get where I am. I will not tarnish myself as Jill by sleeping with or trying to seduce clients. “No. I’m sorry it won’t.” Oh crap I think I just signed my own pink slip.

“Very well. When you’re done here I’ll take you back to your office.”

I turned away before I changed my mind. What a shitty choice to have to make. I would love nothing more than to have a fling with this man. To lick him from head to… almost toe. I don’t do feet. I was due for some fun, it could not be a serious endeavor, but it could have been a lot of heart breaking fun. Every bit of me wanted him badly and if I’d met him outside of work, I would probably be shopping for a new sexy concert worthy dress in an hour.

I heard him walk away and went to take pictures of the bathrooms. They would need a makeover I’m sure if their anything like the rest of this debacle. I ducked into the men’s room first and got out as fast as I could then into the ladie’s room. A momentary refuge from the insanity that waited outside those doors.

I took a few deep breaths and replayed it all in my head. I started this day off kilter and now I was tipped right over. My cell buzzed and I looked at the text from Lawrence. I read them in order from the first he sent.

OMG hot! UGoGurl’ – ‘Just heard, YAY U’ – ‘Plz tell me he’s gay.’ And… the last ‘get laid yet?’

I rolled my eyes and replied. ‘Y hot. Tnx. Not gay. No, job #1’

I waited for his reply. ‘boo lame.’

I closed the screen and saw the still for the GIF he’d sent earlier. I was instantly aroused, and after that damned kiss I was aching. “Get a grip Blythe he’s a client and off limits.” I turned from the large tacky mirror and left the restroom to finish taking a few last pictures.

I was engrossed in the picture-taking I didn’t see the two-inch step-down near the bar and snapped the heel of my favorite shoe.

“Son of a-” I murmured then groaned at the sight of the irreparable break. “Looks like my lucky streak is officially over. Damn.” I looked around at the floor. Spotless. I bet it was clean enough to eat off. I took my shoes off and finished the last of the pictures. With shoes in hand, ideas flying through my head and hormones raging between my legs I silently headed toward the two men with their backs to me.

They had their heads together and backs to me. Tom wasn’t being as quiet as I bet he thinks he is.

“Just lean on her a bit, make her give in and get her out of your system before Lila comes back from her shopping trip to France.”

“It’s over with Lila.” Mac rubbed the back of his neck.

I should make a noise to be heard and was about to.

“Until she comes back and shakes her fake tits in your face and you’re falling all over her again. Dude, like I said, get that hot little Blythe in bed and out of your head. Use her as Lila’s placeholder if you must. She’s just a distraction.”

I stopped in my tracks at Tom’s words.

“I don’t think it’s that simple Tom, Blythe is…”

Tom slapped his hand on the table making the glasses clatter. “Oh God don’t say it. Do not fucking go there man. Lila has an Ivy League education, a solid body, and legs up to her neck. She has a great sense of humor and a heart of gold. Slum if you have to, but you know Lila won’t wait for ever.”

Mortified did not begin to describe how I felt. Angry, furious and disgusted was a good part of the mix. Serves me right for listening in. I walked quickly into view and picked up my purse. “I’m all done. I do need to get back to get my ideas down for you.”

Mac narrowed his eyes at me and his eyes moved to my shoes in my hand. Then his expression changed. He knew I heard, or was I imagining he knew? Guilt did funny things to my perception. I broke a rule, I eavesdropped and I knew beyond anything that I was about to pay the price for my indiscretion.

“Alright I’ll take you back then.” Mac stood and clapped Tom on the shoulder. “We’ll finish our discussion later.” I couldn’t look at Tom. If I did, I might just punch him in the face. I managed to get to Mac’s car and buckled without having to speak or make eye contact with him. I started planning my lie. Oh as if I could lie. None the less, I’d plan one anyway.

The awkward silence was too much, we were almost back to the office. Of course I couldn’t just suck it up like a normal person and so I went to my go to material. Work.

“Do you want live plants or fake?”

He snorted and tapped the steering wheel with a ring on his right hand I hadn’t noticed. “Live, but not too many and they need to be easily cared for.”

“That’s a given. What about fish?” I asked.

“Fish? I’m sure it will be on the menu.”

“I mean as in a fish pond or tank.” I was so relieved when he stopped in front of the building.

Mac nodded his head. “As long as it’s tasteful and not gimmicky.”

“Of course.” I opened the car door and got out. “Thank you for lunch.”

He didn’t look at me as I closed the door. He pulled away too fast squealing his tires. I took a deep breath and went into the office.

To be continued…

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved

Next Chapter: #7 Pink Silk Ribbon 

 

Murmuration 

4 comments on “#6 Lucky Streak (Blythe & Mac)

  1. reactionarytales says:

    Best line: “to lick him from head to… almost toe. I don’t do feet.” Hahaha! Curious what Mac is thinking/going to do next!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Sheryl says:

    That was my favourite line too.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

