#5 Sun Kissed (Blythe & Mac)

Rated R, NSFW

Read previous chapters or from the start here: Blythe and Mac’s story 

Sun Kissed

I recovered from Tom’s abrupt announcement that Mac was going to ask me out. I just met the arrogant man, and now he’s my client. My stickler boss has some strict rules about dating clients. Don’t. Being number one on the list.

I managed a nonchalant shrug. “It’s a free country he can do as he pleases.”

“He usually gets his way.”

I set my fork down, appetite gone. “Good for him.” I snipped out the bitter words. Was there some jealousy in there? Maybe.

“If you say no because he’s a client of your company…” Tom leaned forward. “That might not be the case tomorrow.”

I was proud of myself for not leaning forward and sucker punching Tom.

“Wow you’re some wingman. Do you win awards for intimidating women for your… whatever Mac is to you?”

Tom laughed and reached over touching my hand. It took a lot of will power not to pull away. “He’ll make it worth your time Blythe.”

Screw it. I pulled my hand away. Worth my time? “I’m not sure if I should be offended or pity the two of you. This is my job and I-” I looked over as Mac approached quickly. I did my best to compose myself. I don’t often get threats of this nature.

Mac furrowed his brow at me. “What’s wrong?”

“Tom here says you’re going to ask me out.” I received a kick from under the table. I can only assume was from the person I was tattle telling on.

“A likely possibility.”

I nodded curtly. “And if I don’t accept because you’re a client for the company I work for?” Again, another kick from Tom the charming. I didn’t need a response. I saw the flicker in his eyes the same one that he had earlier when he got his way. “Look I’m not going to lie to either of you. This is my big break from consultant to designer. I will design your restaurant better than you can dream. So I would like it if you could keep this professional.” I sighed softly then added, “please.”

It was as if I flipped a switch and the casual charming Mac disappeared; replaced by a cold all business Mac. Not that I knew him that well, but the shift was staggering. I took my cellphone out of my purse and stood. “I just need to take some pictures. I’ll just be a moment.”

“Take all the time you need.” Mac said before answering his ringing cellphone.

I scooted away quickly. Half glad and half devastated, I muttered to myself. “Just goes to show he was playing me in the first dammed place.” I glanced at an ugly abstract painting with glass strips glued to it

This section of the city had zero outdoor patios or open restaurants. The buildings were too close together and it was too noisy to enjoy a meal outdoors here anyway. I could make this work, but it had to be amazing to accomplish a real feel and not become hokey or ‘theme restaurant’ cliché.

“Is everything okay?”

I jumped at Mac’s soft voice. “Yes. Very. Oh, the potential here is staggering. I could.”

I stopped rambling and looked at Mac’s indecisive face. Was he second-guessing this decision? Had I ruined this opportunity? Did I miss something? My heart started hammering I could hear Mr. Seagate’s voice in my head telling me to pack up my desk. I started open my mouth to say something more and Mac put a hand on the nape of my neck, leaned forward and kissed me.

The contact lit me up as if the sun exploded in my chest. The softness of his lips begged me to respond. When I moved my mouth just enough for him to feel it, he pressed closer. His mouth opened, his lips moved over mine and I mirrored his. Our rapid breaths mingled as his mouth closed, and he backed off.  I couldn’t move, that sun that exploded earlier was burning me from the inside out. The only thing I could think about was the absence of his lips.

To be continued…

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved

Next Chapter: #6 Lucky Streak

 

 Abstract

3 comments on “#5 Sun Kissed (Blythe & Mac)

  1. reactionarytales says:

    The anticipation level… I love how she has no problem saying what’s on her mind!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

